ERES-Stiftung

Gletscherdämmerung
Klimawandel und die Folgen

Exhibition catalogue (German)

Published by: ERES-Stiftung

ISBN 978-3-00-023658-7
192 pages, approx. 100 images
EUR 19,90 plus shipping

Shipping (postage+packing):
EUR 3,– in Germany
EUR 7,– in Europe

To order now

via Fax-Order (pdf)
via E-Mail

The challenge is climate change. What analyses are scientists providing? What positions are artists taking?

GLETSCHERDÄMMERUNG – CLIMATE CHANGE AND THE CONSEQUENCES is the first comprehensive book on one of the most important topics of the 21st century seen from the point of view of both scientists and artists. The 192 page publication combines scientific fact-finding with thirteen very personal ways of looking at the problem. It documents the exhibition as well as the symposium on the subject held in Munich in the fall of 2006.

The catalog section includes works by:

Sonja Braas, Olafur Eliasson, Peter Fend, Lutz Fritsch, Matthias Gangkofner, Nathalie Grenzhaeuser, Haubitz+Zoche, Stephan Huber, Igloolik Isuma Productions, Ruprecht von Kaufmann, Nanne Meyer, Yuko Shiraishi, Roman Signer

The symposium lectures were held by:

Professor Dr. Hartmut Grassl, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Hamburg: »How Thin is the Ice« including facts on the melting of the Alpine glaciers, the two poles and sea ice in the Arctic.
Professor Dr. Gerhard Berz, Department of Meteorology, University of Munich: »Can We Really Afford to Experiment with the Climate?«
Professor Dr. Stefan Rahmstorf, Potsdam Institute for Climate Change: »Is Europe Heading for a Drastic Climate Change?«
Professor Dr. Winfried Blum, Institute for Soil Research, University of Vienna: »How is Climate Change Affecting the Landscape and the Soil and what are the Consequences for Us?«

Some of the works of art were created especially for the exhibition, others were selected because they dealt directly with related subject matter (snow, ice, nature) in the broadest sense. The artist duo Haubitz + Zoche, for example, painted a BMW sedan »Glacier Blue« and parked it in a pedestrian street in Munich right across from the Opera. BLIND DATE was the title of the work using television images of flood disasters to draw attention to the problem. Ameran artist Peter Fend developed the MUNICH ENERGY PROJECT to demonstrate new ways to escape dependence once on fossil fuels. Stephan Huber asks, in his visually strong performance project, what the role oft he artist is in the new global order, in which wars are fought for oil and natural disasters threaten the lives of millions of people.

The book was published in March of 2008.

Image

ERES-Stiftung

Gletscherdämmerung
Klimawandel und die Folgen

Katalog zur Ausstellung

Herausgeber: ERES-Stiftung

ISBN 978-3-00-023658-7
192 Seiten, ca. 100 Abbildungen
EUR 19,90 zzgl. Versandkosten

Versandkosten (Porto+Verpackung):
EUR 3,– in Deutschland
EUR 7,– in Europa

Jetzt bestellen

via Fax-Bestellformular (pdf)
via E-Mail

Herausforderung Klimawandel: welche Analysen liefern Naturwissenschaftler? Welche Positionen beziehen bildende Künstler?

GLETSCHERDÄMMERUNG – KLIMAWANDEL UND DIE FOLGEN ist das erste Buch aus Sicht von Naturwissenschaftlern und Künstlern zu einem der wichtigsten Themen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Die Publikation verbindet auf 192 Seiten naturwissenschaftliches Expertenwissen und dreizehn sehr persönliche künstlerische Sichtweisen. Sie dokumentiert außerdem eine Ausstellung und ein wissenschaftliches Symposium, das im Herbst 2006 in München stattfand.

Im Katalogteil vertreten sind:

Sonja Braas, Olafur Eliasson, Peter Fend, Lutz Fritsch, Matthias Gangkofner, Nathalie Grenzhaeuser, Haubitz+Zoche, Stephan Huber, Igloolik Isuma Productions, Ruprecht von Kaufmann, Nanne Meyer, Yuko Shiraishi, Roman Signer

Der Vortragsteil umfasst folgende Beiträge:

Professor Dr. Hartmut Grassl, Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie, Hamburg: »Wie Dünn ist das Eis« U.a. mit Fakten zum Schmelzen der Alpengletscher, der Polkappen und des arktischen Meereises.
Professor Dr. Gerhard Berz, Lehrstuhl für Meteorologie, Universität München: »Ist das Klimaexperiment bezahlbar?«
Professor Dr. Stefan Rahmstorf, Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung: »Droht Europa ein abrupter Klimawandel?«
Professor Dr. Winfried Blum, Institut für Bodenforschung, Universität Wien: »Wie verändern sich Landschaft und Boden durch den Klimawandel und was bedeutet das für uns?«

Die Publikation beginnt mit dem Ausstellungsteil. Es folgt der Vortragsteil mit Beiträgen sowohl der Wissenschaftler als auch der Künstler.

Einige künstlerische Arbeiten entstanden speziell für die Ausstellung, andere wurden ausgewählt, weil sie sich mit den Themen Natur, Schnee und Eis im weiteren Sinn befassen. So flutete das Künstlerduo Haubitz+Zoche einen BMW, Farbe »Gletscherblau« und platzierte ihn im öffentlichen Raum vis a vis der Münchner Oper. BLIND DATE, so der Titel der Arbeit, ruft Fernsehbilder nach Überschwemmungskatastrophen wach. Der amerikanische Künstler Peter Fend entwickelte für München ein MUNICH ENERGY PROJECT, um Wege aus der Abhängigkeit von fossilen Brennstoffen aufzuzeigen. Stephan Huber stellt in einem bildgewaltigen performativen Vortrag die Frage nach der Position des Künstlers in einer globalisierten Welt, in der Kriege zur Sicherung von ölreserven geführt werden und Naturkatastrophen die Existenz von Millionen von Menschen bedroht.

Das Buch ist im März 2008 erschienen.

Image

Newsletter

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter