ERES-Stiftung

Stephan Huber

World Atlas

Exhibition. Lectures. Discussions.

16 January – 28 March 2015

Project

Since the 1990s, Munich sculptor Stephan Huber has been creating very personal large-format maps that take beholders on fascinating journeys to the most diverse realms of science and human experience. Huber does this by creating collages using existing maps he combines with maps of his own making that include personal experiences as well as philosophical, historical and political references. Radically subjective surveying criteria question a purportedly incorruptible and exact system of order. The decidedly sensual selection of the maps and their aesthetic development open our eyes to the beauty of a traditional medium that conveys knowledge.

This ERES Foundation exhibition brings together - for the very first time - selected works from all phases of Huber’s life. In addition, Stephan Huber will present four true-to-scale models of his »favorite mountains«. In neutral white, these sculptures reproduce the archaic natural form of the mountains while clarifying, embellishing and overstating them, and by doing so, transforming them into works of art.

The »Stephan Huber Weltatlas« is published by Hirmer Verlag München (49,90 €).

The supporting scientific program of the ERES Foundation will look into contemporary trends in cartography. This scientific discipline is currently undergoing substantial changes brought about by digitalization, big data and the internet. Electronic navigation systems are replacing printed maps and are increasingly becoming interactive, multimedia-based and spatially modeled. Smart phones make them available everywhere and they fit the needs of users wherever they may be. To what extent are these technical tools changing our sense of orientation, our day-to-day lives and our worldview?

Image

Stephan Huber, Detail aus La Ville Sentimentale vs. AIC (Ambient Informatic City), 2014
© Stephan Huber und VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2014

ERES-Stiftung

Stephan Huber

Weltatlas

Ausstellung. Vorträge. Symposium.

16. Januar – 28. März 2015

Projekt

Der Münchner Bildhauer und Objektkünstler Stephan Huber entwirft seit den 1990er Jahren sehr persönliche, großformatige Landkarten, die den Betrachter auf eine faszinierende Reise durch unterschiedlichste Wissens- und Erfahrungswelten mitnehmen. Dabei verwendet Huber vorgefundenes Kartenmaterial und collagiert es mit erfundenen Karten, in denen sich persönliche Erlebnisse und Erfahrungen sowie philosophische, historische und politische Bezüge niederschlagen. Radikal subjektive Vermessungskriterien hinterfragen so ein vermeintlich unbestechliches exaktes Ordnungssystem. Die dezidiert sinnliche Auswahl der Karten und ihre ästhetische Weiterentwicklung öffnen darüber hinaus den Blick für die Schönheit eines traditionellen Mediums der Wissensvermittlung.

In der ERES-Stiftung sind erstmals Werkbeispiele aus allen Schaffensperioden vereint. Darüber hinaus wird Stephan Huber vier maßstabsgetreu modellierte Berge zeigen, die er seine Lieblingsberge nennt. In neutralem Weiß gehalten, bilden die Skulpturen die archaische Naturform ab und präzisieren, verschönern und übersteigern sie zur Kunstform.

Es erscheint der Stephan Huber Weltatlas im Hirmer Verlag München (49,90 €).

Das wissenschaftliche Rahmenprogramm der ERES- Stiftung nimmt die Einzelausstellung mit Stephan Huber zum Anlass, aktuelle Tendenzen der Kartografie aufzugreifen. Durch Digitalisierung, Big Data und Internet erfährt die Wissensdisziplin einen grundlegenden Wandel. Navigationssysteme verdrängen gedruckte Stadtpläne, Karten werden interaktiv, multimedial und räumlich modelliert. Per Handy stehen sie überall zur Verfügung und passen sich dem Aufenthaltsort und den Bedürfnissen des Benutzers an. Inwieweit verändern diese technischen Hilfsmittel unseren Sinn für Orientierung, unseren Alltag und unser Weltbild?

Image

Stephan Huber, Detail aus La Ville Sentimentale vs. AIC (Ambient Informatic City), 2014
© Stephan Huber und VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2014

Newsletter

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter