ERES-Stiftung

Plastic Age

The Fascination with and Horror of Plastics in Art and Science

Exhibition. Lectures. Symposium

12 September – 13 December 2014

Project

Plastic is everywhere and everyday life without it is almost unthinkable. It makes our lives easier and more colorful. It is cheap and can be manufactured in any desired form. For those reasons alone, more and more of it is being produced every year. Worldwide production in 1950 was 1.7 million tons. By 2012, that had increased to 288 million tons. Or, in other words, in the past ten years as much plastic was produced as in the previous century.

But the success story of this indestructible and marvelously versatile material has a downside. Productions conditions and chemical stability are a formidable challenge to the material cycles of our planet. Ever-growing mountains of garbage, islands of plastic in the oceans, the accumulation of micro plastics in our waters and in foodstuffs such as honey or milk not only afflict the environment but endanger our health.

On the other hand, a future without plastic is unimaginable and amazing progress has been made in polymer research. Modern plastics present new possibilities in the generation of sustainable energy. In medicine, plastic implants are increasingly becoming promising alternatives to titanium and ceramics.

The visual arts are also exploring the possibilities of plastic. Artists are experimenting with the vast innovative potential of plastic and are using its intriguing diversity and malleability for their works of art. At the same time, they are well aware of the implicit problems in regard to humanity and the environment. That thematic inherent ambivalence is often what attracts them to it.

The goal of the ERES Foundation project »Plastic Age« is to shed light on the fascination and dread we have of this unique material from both artistic and scientific perspectives.

Artists

Paweł Althamer, Michael Beutler, Juliette Bonneviot, Olaf Holzapfel, Christoph Knoch, Bert Löschner, Philipp Messner, Claire Morgan, Alexandra Navratil, Dan Peterman, Tobias Rehberger, Tom Verbruggen

Catalogue

An exhibition catalogue is available (in German).

Image

© Claire Morgan, The Beautiful and the Damned, 2013, Zerrissene Polyethylenfolie, Seidenspinnerfalter, Nylonfaden, Glasvitrine, 58,4 x 46,6 x 46,6 cm, Courtesy Galerie Karsten Greve, Foto: ERES-Stiftung

ERES-Stiftung

Plastic Age

Faszination und Schrecken eines Materials in Kunst und Wissenschaft

Ausstellung. Vorträge. Symposien

12. September – 13. Dezember 2014

Projekt

Plastik ist überall und aus unserem Alltag nicht mehr wegzudenken. Es macht das Leben einfacher und bunter, es ist billig und beliebig formbar. Schon allein deshalb wird immer mehr davon produziert. Lag die weltweite Produktion 1950 noch bei 1,7 Millionen Tonnen, stieg sie kontinuierlich auf 288 Millionen Tonnen im Jahr 2012 an. Oder anders ausgedrückt: In den vergangenen zehn Jahren wurde in etwa so viel Plastik hergestellt, wie im gesamten letzten Jahrhundert.

Doch die Erfolgsgeschichte dieses so unverwüstlichen und wunderbar vielseitigen Materials hat auch ihre Schattenseiten. Günstige Produktionsbedingungen und chemische Beständigkeit sind eine gewaltige Herausforderung für die Stoffkreisläufe unseres Planeten: Wachsende Müllberge, Plastikinseln in den Ozeanen, Mikroplastik in Gewässern und Lebensmitteln wie Honig oder Milch belasten nicht nur die Umwelt, sondern auch unsere Gesundheit.

Andererseits ist eine Zukunft ohne Plastik nicht mehr vorstellbar, denn es gibt erstaunliche Fortschritte in der Polymerforschung. Moderne Kunststoffe eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten bei der Erzeugung erneuerbarer Energien, in der Medizin sind Plastikimplantate immer häufiger vielversprechende Alternativen zu Werkstoffen wie Titan und Keramik.

Auch die bildende Kunst erprobt Einsatzmöglichkeiten und Wirkungen von Plastik. Künstler erkunden auf ihre Weise das ungeheure Innovationspotenzial von Kunststoff und nutzen seine verblüffende Vielfältigkeit und leichte Formbarkeit für ihre Arbeit. Dabei sind sie sich der damit verbundenen Problematik für Mensch und Umwelt durchaus bewusst. Oft ist gerade die dem Thema innewohnende Ambivalenz Teil seiner Anziehungskraft.

Mit dem Projekt »Plastic Age« möchte die ERES-Stiftung Faszination und Schrecken dieses besonderen Materials aus künstlerischer und wissenschaftlicher Sicht beleuchten.

Künstler

Paweł Althamer, Michael Beutler, Juliette Bonneviot, Olaf Holzapfel, Christoph Knoch, Bert Löschner, Philipp Messner, Claire Morgan, Alexandra Navratil, Dan Peterman, Tobias Rehberger, Tom Verbruggen

Katalog

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog.

Image

© Claire Morgan, The Beautiful and the Damned, 2013, Zerrissene Polyethylenfolie, Seidenspinnerfalter, Nylonfaden, Glasvitrine, 58,4 x 46,6 x 46,6 cm, Courtesy Galerie Karsten Greve, Foto: ERES-Stiftung

Newsletter

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter