ERES-Stiftung

THE SELF – AN EGO MACHINE

What is consciousness?
Exploring new insights in the arts and neurosciences

Exhibition. Lectures.

12 October 2016 – 4 March 2017

Project

Just what is consciousness exactly and why do we human beings have it? These questions are among the greatest unsolved mysteries of science. New techniques in brain research have led to unexpected results over the past few years. Neuroscientists all agree on one thing: the ego is an illusion created by the brain - but an extremely useful one. It ensures that we grasp only excerpts of reality, that we perceive ourselves as just one body and that the world appears uniform to us.

From the point of view of neuroscience, consciousness is an ego machine, a gigantic processing center that is based on the complex, pulsating discharge of billions of neurons which are compressed into an ego illusion. Without the brain’s ability to standardize, we would be lost. We couldn’t communicate with other people, couldn’t cooperate with them, learn from them, feel for them. Attempts are being made for the first time to transfer the human model to external systems such as robots or avatars. The rapid advances in fusing artificial intelligence and robotics are making the distinction between man and machine more permeable. We are on the threshold of a consciousness revolution. But what are the consequences?

Answers to these and other questions are what the ERES Foundation’ latest project »The Self – an Ego Machine« is searching for. How do we empathize with others? What happens in states of trance? What kind of consciousness do animals have? The exhibition shows artistic reactions to the fascinating results of contemporary neural research as well as surprising, original insights into the complexities of human consciousness.

Paweł Althamer uses LSD, magic mushrooms, hashish and other substances to put himself in expanded states of consciousness. In his performance film, »Do we feel with our brain and think with our heart?«, Jan Fabre discusses that question with neuroscientist Giacomo Rizzolatti. Carsten Höllers series of photographs, »Sina«, deal with whether or not animals have consciousness. Peter Kogler, with a cube especially conceived for this exhibition, questions the traditional experience of space and in doing so unleashes perplexing consciousness phenomena. His latest collages head straight for the subconscious with their visual swirls – a series part wildly colorful, part black hole remix. The exhibition is also showing new »Rubbings« by Matt Mullican as well as his video »Breakfast«. His latest piece »Untitled (A place to sleep)« is surprisingly storylike and formulates the human desire for security and intimacy with very simple means. Thomas Zipp has devised an ensemble consisting of paintings on canvas and electronic musical instruments that functions as a »neural network«. With antennas as »organs of perception« his music machine turns out to have life of sounds all its own - and perhaps even consciousness.

In addition, there are the amazingly artistic drawings by Spanish physiologist Santiago Ramón y Cajal (1852-1934), who was the first to identify transmitting neurons as the building blocks of the nervous system. There is also a photograph of the brain, taken by Ulrich Blum, doctor and photographer. To give visitors an impression of the new possibilities of generating virtual reality and the increasingly perfect illusion technology, VR headsets (Oculus Rift) will be part of the exhibition. This new technology makes it increasingly difficult for the brain and consciousness to distinguish between virtual reality and the real world – with spectacular effects.

Catalogue

A catalogue will be available in conjunction with the exhibition.

Image

Peter Kogler, Untitled, 2016, mixed media, 100 x 100 cm
© the artist

ERES-Stiftung

ICH ist eine EGO-Maschine

Was ist Bewusstsein?
Aktuelle Positionen aus Kunst und Neurowissenschaft

Ausstellung. Vorträge.

12. Oktober 2016 – 4. März 2017

Projekt

Was ist Bewusstsein und warum entwickeln wir überhaupt bewusste Vorstellungen? Diese Fragen zählen zu den großen ungelösten Rätseln der Wissenschaft. Mit neuen Methoden ist die Hirnforschung in den vergangenen Jahren zu unerwarteten Erkenntnissen gekommen. In einem Punkt sind sich die meisten Neurowissenschaftler inzwischen einig: Das Ich ist eine vom Gehirn erzeugte Illusion – aber eine überaus nützliche! Sie sorgt dafür, dass wir nur Ausschnitte der Wirklichkeit erfassen, uns als nur einen Körper wahrnehmen und uns so eine einheitliche Welt erscheint.

Aus Sicht der Neurowissenschaft ist das Ich eine Ego-Maschine mit einer gigantischen Rechenleistung, die sich auf komplexe, pulsierende Entladungen von Milliarden Neuronen zurückführen lässt und sich zu einer Ich-Illusion verdichtet. Ohne diese Fähigkeit des Gehirns zur Vereinheitlichung wären wir nicht lebensfähig. Wir könnten nicht mit anderen Menschen kommunizieren, mit ihnen kooperieren, von ihnen lernen, mit ihnen fühlen. Inzwischen gibt es erste Ansätze, das menschliche Selbstmodell auf externe Systeme wie Roboter oder Avatare zu übertragen. Die rasant voranschreitende Kombination aus Künstlicher Intelligenz und Robotik macht die Grenze von Mensch und Maschine durchlässig. Wir stehen vor einer Bewusstseinsrevolution. Mit welchen Folgen?

Antworten auf diese und weitere Fragen sucht das neue Projekt der ERES-Stiftung »Ich ist eine EGO-Maschine«: Wie fühlen wir mit anderen Menschen? Was passiert in Trance? Haben auch Tiere ein Bewusstsein? Die Ausstellung zeigt künstlerische Positionen, die sich mit den faszinierenden Ergebnissen der Bewusstseinsforschung auseinandersetzen oder auf eigenen Wegen zu überraschenden Einsichten in das menschliche Bewusstsein gelangen.

Paweł Althamer versetzt sich mit LSD, Magic Mushrooms, Haschisch und anderen Substanzen in bewusstseinserweiternde Zustände. Jan Fabre diskutiert in einem performativen Video mit dem Neurowissenschaftler Giacomo Rizzolatti über die Frage »Do we feel with our brain and think with our heart?«, Carsten Höllers Fotoserie »Sina« reflektiert, ob auch Tiere ein Bewusstsein haben. Peter Kogler zieht in einem eigens für die Ausstellung konzipierten Kubus die herkömmliche Erfahrung von Raum in Zweifel und setzt irritierende Bewusstseinsphänomene frei. Seine jüngsten Collagen zielen mit ihren Bildstrudeln direkt ins Unterbewusstsein und reihen sich zu einem teils poppig-bunten, teils abgrund-schwarzen Remix. Die Ausstellung zeigt zudem neue »Rubbings« von Matt Mullican sowie die Videoperformance »Breakfast«. Überraschend erzählerisch ist seine neue Arbeit »Untitled (A place to sleep)«, die mit einfachsten Mitteln die Sehnsucht des Menschen nach Geborgenheit und Intimität formuliert. Thomas Zipp entwirft ein Ensemble aus Leinwandbildern und elektronischen Musikgeräten, das er als neuronales Netzwerk inszeniert. Mit Antennen als »Wahrnehmungsorganen" entwickelt die Musik-Maschine ein unheimliches Sound-Eigenleben – und vielleicht sogar Bewusstsein?

Gezeigt werden ferner erstaunlich künstlerisch wirkende Zeichnungen des spanischen Physiologen Santiago Ramón y Cajal (1852-1934), der als erster die funkenden Neuronen als Bausteine des Nervensystems identifizierte, sowie eine in der Pathologie entstandene Gehirnaufnahme des Mediziners und Fotografen Ulrich Blum. Um den Besuchern einen Eindruck von den neuen Möglichkeiten virtueller Realitätserzeugung und den immer perfekter werdenden Illusionsmaschinen zu vermitteln, ist außerdem eine VR-Brille (Oculus Rift) in der Ausstellung verfügbar. Mit dieser neuen Technik wird es für Gehirn und Bewusstsein immer schwieriger, zwischen Wirklichkeit und Virtualität zu unterschieden – mit überwältigendem Effekt.

Katalog

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog.

Image

Peter Kogler, Untitled, 2016, mixed media, 100 x 100 cm
© the artist

Newsletter

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter